Up North to Sputnik Tool

I hired a car in Boston and drove about 6 hours north to Sedgewick, Maine, to visit Jeff Buchholz of Sputnik Tool.  Jeff has built his own workshop, and I was really impressed to see that his finely-made fixtures and tools are all made in-house by him alone on a lathe, a Bridgeport milling machine, and only recently, a CNC Millport milling machine.

When I met Drew at Engin Cycles in Philadelphia he had a lot of praise for Jeff’s tools, and Drew knows a thing or two about tools..

Jeff showed me some work in progress, and I took some pictures:

Jeff in the Sputnik workshop

Jeff talked to me about how he used to work at Fat City Cycles and Independent Fabrication, but is mostly self-taught with regard to machining.  He struck out on his own when his previous role became more managerial, and he wanted to work with his hands.

Sputnik ships equipment globally, and I was impressed how Jeff didn’t dress things up in marketing spiel, he just makes purposeful, straightforward quality tooling.

Jeff's new cnc machine.

Here are some fixture parts awaiting machining:

Making stuff that will make stuff.. cool.

A workpiece on the Millport with swarf shield behind.

I really like the fact that Sputnik Tool makes great equipment by one man in his own shop.  Moose sometimes stroll past the window next to the blueberry field.

These tools will save a lot of frame builders time and money.  I half-jokingly suggested that due to the weight of some of the bigger fixtures, maybe Jeff could licence production in Europe, where many of his customers are based.  Jeff replied that the whole point for him was that he enjoys making things himself.

I was sold.

4 Comments on “Up North to Sputnik Tool”

  1. Rodger says:

    I think this is among the most vital info for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. But wanna
    remark on some general things, The site style is wonderful,
    the articles is really great : D. Good job,
    cheers

  2. Vernon says:

    Hello I am so happy I found your webpage, I really found you by
    error, while I was researching on Google for something else,
    Regardless I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a marvelous post and a all round enjoyable blog (I
    also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have book-marked it
    and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do
    keep up the great jo.

  3. Thanks for sharing your insights. Hard to find good information on construction equipment in blogs usually, so I am happy to find your website. I agree with you 100%.

    I look forward to reading more in the future and if there is anything I can ever do for you please don’t hesitate to call or email my friend.

    Truly yours,

    Rob
    Stephenson Equipment


Leave a Reply

